My Adventures With Associated Content

No wonder their writers suck so bad! I will explain…

Ok, so as some of you already know: out of pure curiosity generated by a certain professional award winning blogger’s constant “self promotion” I signed up for Associated Content and got myself one of those nifty assignment desks. See:

Very professional!

So I decided to publish something and see how it works. So I chose an assignment on Farmers Markets and began writing. It would be an understatement to say it was a frustrating experience. Seriously. Remember the comment I made about the writers over there not knowing how to use spell check? Well guess what – there is no spell check on that site! Not only that, but you can’t copy and paste text that’s inside the text box! That means that if I wanted to copy and paste into MS Word to spell check my article, I can’t. Eventually I figured out that you can change the format of the text box, BUT you have to change that setting before you start writing. You can’t change it half way through or it erases everything you wrote. And since you can’t copy and paste – say good bye to your work or risk publishing it without a spell check.

So long story short; I submitted the article and if they decide to publish it (yes, there is actually someone who reviews the articles and approves them) there is a small chance I will be joining the ranks of Yahoo Associated Content writers who don’t know how to use a spell check – which will be pretty embarrassing considering everything that happened the last few days.

After I got used to the pure annoying-ness which is the set up over there, I kinda started having fun choosing assignments and playing professional journalist. It’s fun. I see why Jenn likes this game. Some other articles I submitted: 3 New Years Fashion Resolutions (written with Teresa Giudice in mind), my Chicken and Cheerios Recipe, a slide show which I titled The Many Faces of Phaedra Parks, and my Real Housewives of Atlanta Recap minus the screen caps. It won’t be as fun without the pictures, but I figured if that guy from the other day could get his fakecap published, I don’t see why I can’t get mine published. So I gave it a shot. We’ll see if anything actually ends up on the site.

Oh, and in another example of Canadians getting screwed: I’m not eligible to get paid for my submissions because I’m not a US legal resident. So I’m getting screwed out of an extra $300 a year. Modern day slavery I tell you!

This entry was posted in In The News and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

136 Responses to My Adventures With Associated Content

  1. Damnert says:

    Kindle this wickedly funny blog on Amazon. If the “Professional” can try to sell her ” I Haz A Blog Yo” on Kindle for 99 cents a whack, YOURS will be a best seller :o)

  2. tweatcyn says:

    No pay??? That’s just rude! I commend you for researching this. Let us know if anything mahes it.

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention My Adventures With Associated Content | -- Topsy.com

  4. car54 says:

    The Chicago Examiner is also looking for writers if you want to pursue another gig, lol.

  5. Waxdiva says:

    Think of everything you could do with that $300 a year! But isn’t $300US equal to $250CAN? Seems like you’re getting ripped off!

  6. @twilighttwitti says:

    Anything you write would beat Jenn Sales slam down! No one ever knows what the hell she’s talking about in her blogs. She gives weird names to all of the reality stars such as Michaele Salahi (Shelley Salami). Who the heck is going to know who she is writing about if you are a first time reader. Then she talks about Toads and Wizards and I’m left thinking WHAT THE FUCK IS WRONG WITH THIS CHICK!

  7. bacasam says:

    uh oh, a sinking feeling came over me. If this Assoc Content thing does work out does it mean you’ll have to surrender your Hobby Blogger title? say it ain’t so…

  8. bravofanfromday1 says:

    Oh my god! I’m a writer too! I followed your link to Associated Content and you won’t BELIEVE IT!!! They offered me 91 assignments and I didn’t even have to submit a sample of my work!!

    On a serious note, I actually think I would do a killer job on a couple of the assignments so am considering going back and accepting a couple. I mean if “I has a blog, yo” can do it why not me?

    • Do it! It was actually kinda fun and oddly exciting when they published my slide show. If you get something published post it here so we can all see!

      • TT in OC says:

        JS should be really pissed now. You are turning everyone, not just hobby bloggers, to a professional writer (or is it author as JS claimed?). Now AC has more quality works to choose from and it may actually affect her income … brilliant . Let’s all sign up and start writing.

    • captaincarebear says:

      Me! Me! Me! Me! I couldn’t be left out with all these distinguished writers in my midst. What the heck is a midst anyway? So I joined and submitted my first ummm “professional?” article. I’m oh so excited! I can’t wait to earn my .23$ and rub it in all my friends faces that I’m rich. I’m gonna be rich and famous and ooooh just imagining my new yacht.

      Hmmm, yacht, midst, I sure love strangly spelled words. That’s a writer for ya, loving that English language.

  9. LilyLynn says:

    I see lots more awards in your future! Heehee 🙂

    I just googled Canada Yahoo and there is a site -maybe you can get paid off that?

  10. Ginny Morris says:

    LMAO….No more Hobby Blogger here! MSSSSS. PROFESSIONALLLLLL! Your nose in the air? hehe Hey…you can use my American address! We will get you paid!

  11. smarter than your average toad says:

    o boo hoo did I scare you off Arsenice??? You see you went un detected, everyone were too busy sending ” I love you’s” to each other you were doing a good job with your the alias(otaypanky) unfortunately for you , you made one mistake and that mistake was in one of your posts on June6 which can go back to June 2nd and on wards.

    posters were brushing you off after a while then you return with your other aliases. NYCPalmbeah Wall St Lady, 212, myname2use4now,Jane,m293131,amy417,floridagirl88,little rock, cc in Miami,Melinda, WSL, Wall St Lady, WSM, upperwestside dude, coo coo puffs, Arsenic and the list goes on.

    what I don’t understand is why Put your hair up,and Lynn says it’s not you posting because they can see your ip address what the posters and all the others fail to realize is that you change your ip address. You started doing that when there was a discussion in June about website where you can go to ,to do that.

    I wouldn’t even touch on the who you say ,and claim you are thing. It’s easy to do 🙂 it was entertaining watching you fool the masses and give your never ending stories.

    I think my favorite story was when you were posting as (otaypanky) and you were exchaging discussions with( toula) and you told her you were Jewish, live in Manhatthan,and you once tought at a Jamacian school. Posted in June, and (Jill) backed down from you after you told her you lived a few blocks from her.

    My other favorite was when you said. You lives in California, Road Runner was slow,and your going to move over the boarder.

    My other favorite was when. You posted as (otaypanky)again sharing your story about your celebrity friend, and the party you ,and one of your friend went to. Alex showed up,but all eyes were on you ,and your friend ,because you were in tight jeans,and top and the photographer liked that.

    I guessed everyone was too busy posting xoxo’s too each other ,and messed the most important parts where you messed up, but hey! What do I know? I’m just a troll ,and love trolling. It’s not my job to point out the obvious, frauds, liars, and manipulators, but it is my job as an honest citizen to look out for the lost,and gullable masses! I pity the fools. From one troll to another KOOKY THE KLOWN! Xoxoxo

  12. smarter than your average toad says:

    PS when you posted as (otaypanky) you were coherent ,once you started posting as WSL your grammar became atrocious! What happened? Guess only you and I can answer that questions. Since we both know the strategies of a Troll.

    Singing a loud. A hunting I shall go, a hunting I shall go chooca chooca choooo chooo, a chooca chooca choo choo. Was a pleasure girls and boys, but gotta get back to bugging Harvey a chooca chooca chooca chooca..choo choo

  13. smarter than your average toad says:

    Oh yeah … Hey boys ,and girls @ 5PM EST. I will return to un mask to you gullable masses. Who was the “brains” behind TweetMaxine

    singing loudly… The sheep are among you ,the sheep is among you ha ohh the merry O it’s one of your very own… A chooca chooca choo choo choo choo adios BOING BOING ta la dee dee la ta dee.

  14. Hey this AC thing is easier then I thought. I’m already 40% through clout level 1 and I only released 1 article and a slide show. I’ll be at level 9 in no time!

    • bacasam says:

      uh oh, be careful, this is beginning to sound very addicting, we have limited experience with prior AC writers…what we’ve seen hasn’t turned out good. No worries, we’ll keep you out the that quagmire

    • WindyCityWondering says:

      Step away from the AC, step away from the AC…..your natural talent is more than enough proof of your amazing authenticity. And I don’t have a bump it or a pair of crocs to throw at you. Please don’t leave us hobby readers/posters in the dust of your professional success!

    • TT in OC says:

      Just remember, AC is a part-time gig. Your real job is the host of this crack house.

      Also, please link any of your released AC articles here. I believe the level thing has to do with how many people click and read your articles (right?). I can’t wait for you to get to level 9 … hobby blogger!

  15. Amber...Real Wife says:

    Congratulations RCH! Another step in Canadian dominance of the blogging world! LOL With 2 more articles you’ll get level 10 and an eggroll. Yahoo! 🙂

    Seriously, nope, it couldn’t happen to a snarkier, 2fist drinking, cloud smoking housewife. Much success!

  16. Trina says:

    what was the rigorous “screening process” like? the one jenn vividly described?

  17. Tuzentswurth says:

    Very cool! I’m still just catching moments here, but congratulations on being a “professional” writer now. A few points…..
    1. I will be happy to adopt you and you can then use my address and get the pay you deserve.
    2. It is true, as stated above, you should not forget your true calling, running this little crack house.
    3. Americans “hate” Canadians because we are jealous. Simple as that.

  18. JUEBIE LOOSER says:

    A aaaaa chewwww!!!!!!! BLESS ME!!! I’m ALLERGIC TO BITCHES!!! That’s FOR U SMARTER TOAD TRYING TO IMPERSONATE THE 1 & ONLY KING TROLL!!! Ur AN Epic FAIL!!!

  19. JUEBIE LOOSER says:

    All trolling aside please keep in prayers one of Our dearest and, beloved friend. She was gunned down senselessly few days ago. Please keep her family and friends in your prayers.

  20. JUEBIE LOOSER says:

    it’s funny how hello is always finished with goodbye it’s funny how good memories can make u cry it’s funny how forever never seems to last it’s funny how much you could loose if u forget about your past it’s funny how people can forgive but can never forget these R things I regret

  21. JUEBIE LOOSER says:

    A YOUNG PHYSIC MIDGET NAMED MARGE WENT 2 JAIL ON A MOST HEINOUS CHARGE!!! BUT DESPITE LOCK & KEY THE NEXT DAY MARGE BROKE FREE & THE HEADLINES READ!! small medium at large!!!!!

  22. JUEBIE LOOSER says:

    theres 150 people on a plane ,they left from JFK heading to Canada. The plane crashed in the hudson rive … Where did they bury the survivors????

  23. JUEBIE LOOSER says:

    IF U GUESS ANY OF MY RIDDLES I’ll GIVE U PRIZES !!! SINCE I DNT WANT MY REAL IDENTITY REVEAL I’ll SEND U ELECTRONIC CARDS ONLINE MUH HAHAHA

  24. JUEBIE LOOSER says:

    THERE ONCE WAS A BOY FROM CANCUN WHO SWALLOWED A HELIUM BALLON HE EXCLAIMED IN DISMAY AS HE FLOATED AWAY I’ll SEE U ON THE DARK SIDE OF THE MOON!!!!!! A WEEEEEEEEE WEEE WEEEEEEE

  25. JUEBIE LOOSER says:

    DING DING WHERE DO I SEND UR PRIZE????

    • I know this whole “prize” thing is just a scam so that Dina can find out where I am and send her mafia hit man crew after me. You think you’re clever, but I see through your little plan.
      You will never silence me! Never!
      Suck it Dina. 😛

  26. JUEBIE LOOSER says:

    THERE’s A WELL KNOWN MAN FROM BOCA HE’S AN UNSTOPPABLE SMOKA HE’d LIT UP ALL DAY COULD HE STOP IT?;?? NO WAY!!! Till OF COURSE HE FINALLY CROAKA GOD DAMN I’ve GOT 2 PUT THIS JACK THE RIPPER DWON A WEEEEEEE WEEEEEEE WEEEEEE

  27. JUEBIE LOOSER says:

    NO MY FRIEND I WAS THE 1 THAT PITCHED THE SCRIPT FOR MAX THE LITTLE PIG FOR THE GEICO COMMERCIAL , SORRY I DIDN’t JACK HIS LINE I INVENTED THAT 🙂 YOU CAN CATCH ME AS 1 OF THE VILLANS ON LAW& ORDER THOUGH AAA MOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

    • That was a stupid annoying comercial. You’re friend should get fired.

      • Take issue as tissues you fold says:

        how dare you insult our intelligence?All the scripts we’ve pitched or gotten from ordinary folks ,were nothing,but gold! Just admit it you adore OUR GEICO COMMERCIALS! Catch me on LA Law& Order I’ll be smuck they put on trial 🙂

  28. JUEBIE LOOSER says:

    cath me in the audience 2morrow on Huckabee’s show!!!! WHOOPIE’s gonna be 1 of his guest I’ll WAVE 2 THE CAMERA & WINK SO ULL KNOW WHICH GUEST IS ME!!!!! Laaaaaa bruummm brummm

  29. JUEBIE LOOSER says:

    IM CHOKING DOWN A GLASS OF SAMBUCA

  30. JUEBIE LOOSER says:

    I know a chick from brude WHO went for a swim in the nude along came a shark OUT FOR A LARK and THAT’s HOW HER NIPPLES GOT CHEWED

  31. realminkey says:

    Congrats on your recent success, RCH. You certainly are a Professional!

    (And now back to Troll Poetry Corner.)

    • Sangfroid says:

      Troll Poetry Corner. Now that is a good idea.
      Fights on the BS Blogger Blogs: Jenn Sale A.K.A The Super Long Fight In The Comments Blog and Troll poetry in the Troll Poetry Corner.
      Something for everyone!

  32. JUEBIE LOOSER says:

    DO U WANT THE PRIZE OR NOT?????

  33. Take issue as tissues you fold says:

    I LIVE IN BEVERLY HILLS I KNOW U MAY THINK AM TELLING A FIB MY PARENTS WELL KNOWN ALL OVER THE WORLD WE’ve FLOWN & ON UR TV SETS!!! OUR FACES ARE SHOWN!!! MY FAMILIES GOT HOLLYWOOD STREET CRED IN THE 60’s MY MOMS BEEN KNOWN 2 POP HER MEDS. BROTHERS BEEN ACTING SINCE 3, COUSINS ON THE SHOW GLEE AM ALL LEFT ALONE & THERE’s NOTHING FOR ME!!! 😦 HAD INTERVIEWS ON JAY LENO SHOW BUT THAT WAS WAY BACK IN 98 U KNOW. DID A CAMEO FOR STEVEN S. IN ONE OF HIS MOVIES CAN U GUESS??? STICK AROUND LATER & I’ll TELL U THE REST. IN IT A VICAR I SOUGHT TO UNFROCK, ADMITTED IT CAME AS A SHOCK AS A MATTER OF FACT TO BE CAUGHT IN THE ACT OF REDEEMING CHURCH SILVER FROM HOCK . OK I’ve GOT TO SCADOOLE ON OUTTA HERE AND GET BACK TO THE SET LOOKS LIKE IT’s GONNA BE RAINING DOWN TOWN LA TODAY!!! A weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

  34. Take issue as tissues you fold says:

    HHMMM TRYING TO OUT DO MY RHYMES? On my time?

  35. Take issue as tissues you fold says:

    LOOK!!! We’ve got a smartass cracking jokes about ba!!s & A§§! U challenging me????? Cause am up for the task!!!.. AM A CROSSWORD COMPILER FROM CREWE, HEARD You NEVER HAD SEX IS THAT TRUE???? SO U TRIED A MAN IN THE BACK OF UR VAN,BUT SADLY HE HADN’t A CLUE!!!! NOW AM GONNA BID UR FINAL FAREWELL, FOR UR JOURNEY TO HEAVEN OR HELL.. BUT I WOULDN’t KEEP U LONG. I’ll JUST SAY A PRAYER & A SONG CAUSE I THINK UR BEGINNING TO SMELL!!!!! RAP UP FOR THE DAY TIME TO JUG DOWN SOME SAMBUCA a vroom vroom

  36. Shari says:

    It would be a lot of work, but you could always write what you wanted to post in a word doc first, and run spell check, then re-type it over there. At least you’d know everything was spelled correctly?

  37. Take issue as tissues you fold says:

    SHARI.. DO You KNOW THE CODES OF A TROLL? Incase you MISSED IT… WE’re NOT TO ACT NORMAL NOR POST NORMAL… OUR JOB IS TO ANNOY PEOPLE LIKE You ,AND THAT INCLUDES WILLFUL,AND SPITEFUL MIS SPELL WORDS.. nowz sharizie ma nizio do u’d understandes whatz i juszz sayza toza uza? NOW DON’t BE A JACKANAPE!!!

  38. Take issue as tissues you fold says:

    LOTS OF OXYGENS GOOD FOR THE BRAIN!!! WITHOUT IT I GO INSANE!!!! THERE’s NO DISGUISE WHEN U LOOK IN MY EYES FRUP IT THIS BLUNTS DRAINING MY BRAIN VRUMM VROOM

  39. Take issue as tissues you fold says:

    THERE WAS A LOOSER NAME SHARI WHO WONDERED FOR MILES IN THE RAIN HER HAT IT DID SHRINK WHICH THEN MADE HER THINK HER HEAD WAS TOO SMALL FOR HER BRAIN!!!!! Vroom VROOM CHOOOOOO CHOOOOOO VROOOM VROOM MMMMMM

  40. Take issue as tissues you fold says:

    ta na na nih na can’t touch this ta na nauh na na can’t touch this I see skies are blue she’s a very scare girl the type you don’t take home to mama lets scrap this vroom vroom rain drops and roses whoskers and mittens brown paper packages tied up in strings these are a few of my favorite things when the dogs bite when the bee stings WATCH ME ROARRRRRR ROARRRRRR ROARRRRR MOOOOOOOOO MEOWWWWWWW HISSSSSSS HISSSSSS CHOOOOOO CHOOOOOO AM A BIG BLK BEAR NOOO ROARRRR, NO AM A COW MOOOOOOO, NO A PIG OIBK OINK NOOOOOO AM A DUCK QUACK QUACK AM A LION WATCH ME RAWWWWWWWWWW AM GONNA EAT U AM GONNA GOBBLE U UP NOOO AWWWWW RUN AWAY THE LIONS COMINGGGGGG HELPPPPPP A CHOOOOOOO CHOOOO VROOOOOM VROOOOM

  41. Take issue as tissues you fold says:

    my mom once gave me a flute a sarpint ran into my boot,but I play day and night ,till the sarpint took flight,and avoided me cause I was wearing brute. VROOOOOM VROOOMMMM AM GONNA GETCHA AM GONNA GETCHA WATCH RAWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW

  42. Take issue as tissues you fold says:

    there was an old man from the west, who wore a plum colored vest…when they ask does it fit? He replied No NOT ONE BIT! O that silly old man from the west 😦

  43. Take issue as tissues you fold says:

    well there are times when we all need to share a little pain & ironing out the rough spots is the hardest spot of memories remain and there’s times when we all need TO HEAR DA RADIO CAUSE FRUM DA LIPS OF SUM OLE SINGER WE ALREADI SHARE DA PROBLEMS WE ALREADY NO SING ALONG WITH ME MY BURELO FRIENDS COME ONNNN

    TURN THEM ON TURN THEM ON TURN ON THOSE SAD SONGS WEN ALL HOPE IS GONE SAD SONGS SAY SOO MUC H THIS IS MY SHIT PEEPS I GOTS MAZ RADIOZ BLASTING TO SUM ELTON JOHN

  44. Take issue as tissues you fold says:

    SHARIF DNT LIKE IT ROCK DA CASHBAH ROCK DA CASHBAH BY ORDER OF DA PROPHET I HEAD THAT BOOGIE SOUND DEGENERATES DA FAITHFULL WIT DAT CRAZI CASHBAH SOUND SING ALONG ALL MY JUMBLA FRIENDS SHARIF DNT LIKE IT YEAHHHH ROCK MA CASHBAH ROCK MA CASHBAH

  45. Take issue as tissues you fold says:

    NO WOMAN NOOO CRY 3 LIIL BIRDS BEHIND MA DOOR STEEPS SINGING SWEET SONGS OF MELODIES PURE & TRUE DIS IS MY MESSAGE 2 U WHO WHOOOOO U BRULOOS DNT GOTTA WORRY ABOUT A THANG CAUSE EVERY LIL THINGS GONNA BE ALRITE OOOO YEAHHHH WISH ALL OF U COULD BE HEERE 2 BOOGIE ON DWN 2 MY MUSICC

  46. Take issue as tissues you fold says:

    SORRY HAD TO GO LIGHT MY FIRE PLACE IT’s COLD OUT HERE IN LA GONNA HAVE SOME RAIN MY FRIEND JUST CALLED ME AND TOLD ME IT’s ALREADY RAINING OVER BY THEM IN NORTHRIDGE O WELL NOEL

  47. Take issue as tissues you fold says:

    Ok dokie smokie I gotta press pause for a min… Have a serious question. I was thinking on pitching a commercial script about Jimmy McMillan .The man who spoke those infamous words “the rent is too God damn high” I’ve been observing you posters,and your really smart people. I’d like to hear some of your ideas, and opinions on this,so shoot me an email at Levine1952@publicist.com NOW BACK TO MY SWEET MUSIC!!!

  48. Take issue as tissues you fold says:

    I’m hearing voices in ma head they say am SKITZAFRANTIC!!! I swear THEY SAYING I GOT IT FROM ANOTHER PLANET 56 A TIMES AM DOING SUMMER SALTS DO IT RITE & U CAN KEEP UR WHOLE SUMMER OFF AM OUT MA MIND YEA AM SEEING DOUBLES YALL NOW WHAT’s THE CHANCE AM SEEING BOTH YALL SING ALONG WITH ME MY SWEET PEAS VROOOOOOM VROOOOOOM VROOOOOOOOM

Leave a Reply

