The Real Housewives of Atlanta – Canned Food And Crackers

The show opens and Kim is packing for the gay party in Palm Springs.
Kim, insightful as ever, realizes that she owns a lot of black clothing and ponders if that must mean that she’s depressed. I own a lot of red clothes, does that mean I’m angry?

I was surprised to see that Kim owns more than one wig because her hair always looks exactly the same.

Brielle does that weird purr noise again. *Shutter* I don’t know why but it just creeps me out so much. Like really disturbs me. Like, I’m getting this screen shot with the sound muted.

NeNe and her younger son discuss the rumors that Brice is in a gang. NeNe says that Brice couldn’t possibly be a gang member because he’s not strong and girls can beat him up. Don’t worry NeNe, when you join a gang they give you guns, you don’t have to be strong.
I’m sure Brice isn’t in a real gang. I mean, I know it’s hard not to get caught up out there on the mean suburban streets of those gated communities, but I’m sure NeNe raised him better than that.
Although… I did see on HLN that the legal definition of a gang is basically like 3 or more kids doing something illegal together, so yeah, he might actually be a gang member according to Georgia state law.

Sheree and Dwight meet to discuss the $30,000 worth of photocopies he made for her fashion show. Sheree argues that there is no way Dwight has $30,000, because if he did he would have fixed his nose so that he could breathe properly.
Much like with NeNe, the situation was left with nothing actually being resolved.
Dwight better keep his butchered nose nice and far up Phaedra’s ass if he wants to keep his spot on this show.

He is about 2 procedures away from being Taylors twin. 

Kim and her assistant Sweetie arrive in Palm Springs and rent a yellow Lambo. As they drive through the desert they wonder what those big white spinny things are. Do they make snow? Are they big fans cooling down the highway? It’s a mystery.

Kim finally arrives at the hotel where Kandi is waiting for her. A limo pulls up behind Kim’s car carrying her luggage. Kandi says that having a single on iTunes has caused Kim to think she’s Lady Gaga. I don’t think that’s true at all.

Clearly Kim thought she was Lady Gaga long before she ever had that song.

Cynthia is agonizing over whether or not she should marry her boyfriend of 3 years. Um, hello?! You have a house together and he is helping you raise your daughter and you’re not sure if you want to marry him?? She’s annoying.
Her boyfriend is pretty annoying too though. You don’t give a woman an ultimatum. You give her a ring, set the date, and send out the invitations. No wonder he’s almost 50 and still not married.

Their houses look so tiny after watching Beverly Hills, don’t they?! *snicker*

Fakedra explains that Apollo is a white collar criminal which is not as bad as being a blue collar criminal. Similar to Martha Stewart, he was also in one of those cushy, high class federal prisons with a bunch of rich white folks and no shower rape. It’s not like he did real time in a state prison, so he’s practically not even a criminal.

Fakedra doesn’t want her child to grow up to be like his father, so she is going to beat him to make sure he turns out right. Apollo thinks child abuse is probably a bad idea, but she has the money and the pre-nup, so she makes the rules. I will be taking bets in the comments section on how much longer this marriage lasts. 50 bucks says less than 12 months.

Sheree goes to visit a daughter I never knew she had. The visit was pretty uneventful. Sheree exclaimed how small and cramped everything was, then made her daughter promise not to make her a grandmother just yet.

Kim and Kandi partied with the gays in Palm Springs. The men all thought Kim was in drag, she thought the guys were hitting on her because they were straight. It was one big confusing mess when they got back to the hotel room.

The next day Kim goes to dance practice. The choreographer wants to teach her how to dance, but first he had to teach her the basics like covering your vajayjay, and not sitting with your legs spread eagle in a mini skirt. It was a long day.

Kandi wants to know what Kim’s goal is as an artist. Kandi, Kandi, Kandi…. Kim doesn’t want to be an “artist”. She just wants to ride around in limos, be pampered by hair and makeup people, dance around on a stage, and get tons of love and attention from strangers.

After a near wardrobe malfunction, Kim finally managed to get on stage and sing her song live for 10,000 people. She looked very nice in her new wig.

Fakedra and Apollo have an older couple from the church over for dinner and some mentoring. What they really need is some serious heavy duty couples counseling, but Fakedra doesn’t like to be told she’s wrong, so she prefers to take advice from people she can intimidate into not arguing with her.

Apollo isn’t happy with his food. Fakedra explains that due to Apollo’s unfortunate upbringing in a white household, he prefers to eat things that come from cans. Cans! Can you believe it?! Crazy ass white folks. Black people don’t do crazy things like eat food out of cans because everyone knows you can’t put fried chicken in a can. (Don’t hate me. She started it.)

Apollo says that his love language is spending time together and getting to know more about each other. Awww. How sweet. Fakedra doesn’t like that. Why the hell would she want his time when she could have presents instead? She even makes the present buying easy for him. He doesn’t have to go through the trouble of actually picking things out for her, all he has to do is call one of her stylists or personal shoppers and they will tell him exactly which pair of $3,000 shoes to buy her. See how nice she is?

I think Fakedra just might be the ultimate villain housewife. She has the “Ain’t I a classy Southern Belle?” attitude of Teresa, the “buy me stuff!!” attitude of Jill Zarin, and the racist attitude of Stacie – only worse. She has the worst qualities of the most awful housewives all rolled into one. Congratulations Fakedra, you managed to make it to the top of the most hated list in a mere 3 episodes. That has to be some kind of record. Even Jill Zarin and Teresa Giudice were liked in their first seasons.

This entry was posted in Recaps, The Real Housewives of Atlanta, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

165 Responses to The Real Housewives of Atlanta – Canned Food And Crackers

  1. colibrimoon says:

    That dig about black people and fried chicken is fucked up! Phaedra is one woman with an inflated ego and loose lips. You write a blog and should know better. It’s interesting to see how some people understand it is Phaedra’s distorted view that caused this ruckus and other people used this as an opportunity to insult an entire race…I gave you more credit than that!

    No wonder you disliked Stacie so much! I guess you couldn’t restrain yourself anymore!

    • I was just making fun of a sterotype. Come on… that’s the sterotype, right? So I couldn’t turn that into a joke when Phaedra says black people don’t eat canned food? I knew I would prob take some heat for that comment. I was hoping people could see the humor/irony in it but I knew not everyone would. It was a risk I took.

      • Waxdiva says:

        These people sign up for reality shows, they show who they really are… and then you are taken down for writing about it?! That’s really F’d up. Whether Fakedra be black or white, what came out of her mouth showed true ignorance. She wants to portray herself as a ‘classy’ and educated, but she’s just ignorant…. (ignorant meaning she doesn’t know any better).

        • Sanguis Frigidus says:

          I just read Pheadra’s bio on Bravo. It said, “. . . has thrown herself into planning the perfect baby shower”
          Really! A Southern Belle (note the final e, Southern Bell was our phone company) would never throw her own baby shower. Seriously, don’t your friends and family do that?
          Of course, what do I know, I’m saving my empty commercial size cans o’ mayo to make lovely luminaries for the trailer park entrance.

      • 9021ch0de says:

        I find the fried chicken in a can comment HILARIOUS, and will be reading your FUN blog more often as a result of that. I happen to be white (Italian-American), and absolutely LOVE fried chicken! I’m also no stranger to canned goods, or to getting an ass whoopin’ as a child. Fakedra’s ignorant generalization’s weren’t meant as a joke – fried chicken in a can was. Learn to laugh a little and not take everything so seriously.

      • Miss Anthrope says:

        I wouldn’t worry about the comment. I know plenty of black people with a SENSE OF HUMOR who make fried chicken jokes. Because, let’s be honest here…not all stereotypes are negative. There’s not a damn thing wrong with eating fried chicken. I don’t know why people get so offended about those types of jokes. It’s only offensive if you want it to be.

        That said, I thought it was funny and well played.

      • Mary Jane says:

        I got the irony, and I found it very funny. I knew you were gonna get some comments about it, it was a bold move.

        • crazysweet says:

          I don’t like fried chicken I’m a vegetarian. I take offense for the chickens! see? now we’re ALL offended time to find something else to be pissed about. 😉

      • captaincarebear says:

        I swear I wrote on a paper that: Oh No Phaedra did NOT just say “growing up in a white household he likes canned food and packed meats.” I was desperate to post it somewhere but alas where to post. Then I figured, realcityhousewife will no doubtedly comment on that exact thing in a day or two and I’ll have my relief of being able to find a place to post about Phaedra’s little faux-pas. Now excuse my while I go find my can-opener… my tuna and spam await.

      • SillyMe says:

        No worries RCH I loved your blog and your sense of humor! It’s so funny how some people get so worked up over a joke! I’m asian and there are a lot of jokes/generalizations made toward us and I still laugh at them when they’re funny. Keep doing your captures we love it! I gave you a thumbs up! 😀

    • Also I want to add colibrimoon – I dislike Stacie because of her horrible two faced judgmental personality. You and me are twitter friends, I’m surprised that you would imply what you did.

      Here:
      All white people love to put mayonnaise on everything.
      See – now we’re even, ok?

      • tuzentswurth says:

        Like you said, “she started it”. The ridiculous nature of her comment could only be brought home to her by your humorous comment. Why oh why can someone say a generalization about “white people” in all seriousness, but don’t say anything in jest about black people and puhleese, spare me the big lecture on oppression and understanding and blah, blah, blah. Many if not all classes of people have been oppressed, different places, different times and we are all descended from mitochondrial Eve who was black so lighten up. This is a humor blog and RCH nor I are “hating” anyone or just waiting for our chance. Nobody is bitching that Phaedra just insulted an entire race. My gosh, racism will never die will it? When Teresa is the butt of our jokes the Italians don’t rise up and take it personally, nor the Jewish community for Jill, etc, etc.

        • Thanks tuz.
          I think instead of everyone being PC and trying not to hurt anyone’s feelings, I think we should all be able to make fun of each other equally no matter our skin color or religion.

          • TT in OC says:

            That’s the spirit of this blog and that’s what I love about this blog.

          • Anonymous says:

            I don’t know what all this nonsense is about black people can’t get fried chicken out of a can is racist. I’m sure the author of the site would be more than happy to say that to a black person..

          • tuzentswurth says:

            BTW, you might recall that on the BH blog I made a tasteless Canadian joke, thank God the entire Canadian nation didn’t come down on my head. See, it’s ok to laugh and move on (except for the old age dig, I’m still not over that one) 😉

        • mscarp says:

          AMEN, Tuz and RCH. As a white person I am offended OFFENDED at her generalizations about my can-loving ways. How dare she?! I mean just b/c my Pa and I go squirrel hunting and can ’em up for the winter don’t mean we cain’t enjoy some fried chicken on occasion from the KFC. I’m mean, really. We like to eat fancy just like anyone. Hell, we even break out the nice Chinet and Franzia.

      • missmi says:

        and dont forget white people cant dance.

    • Anonymous says:

      Oh come on! It’s a joke! Sheesh! Hilarious recap as usual. Feel the love!

  2. Tracy says:

    @colibrimoon…first of all don’t bring drama to this board. We all come here to discuss, laugh at and talk about these women. Let’s not drag race into this, shall we? These women go on TV and make ALL women of color look bad…I was a fan the first and second year but now it’s obvious that celebrity has gone to these women’s heads. I’m tired of all of them quite frankly but watch because I’m addicted to the franchise. You’re entitled to your opinion, but you’re not entitled to ruin our fun! If you don’t like what she said then simply don’t visit the board again.

    P.S….by-the-by….I’M A WOMAN OF COLOR!!!

    Here endeth the lesson. I now return you to your regularly scheduled recap. Toodles!

    • Waxdiva says:

      I like you, Tracy!

    • Shari says:

      Applauds Tracy! I’m what you might consider a mutt. (I’m a mix of seven different nationalities) I’ve heard all the jokes, but, unless those jokes were meant to be cruel, I laughed right along with them.

      It’s the intention behind what a person says, not what they say. RCH’s intentions were to get a laugh, not to undermine someones race.

      • tuzentswurth says:

        Well said ladies, thank you, I like to keep race out of it, like sexual orientation, religion and politics. I enjoy you (all of you) immensely and I love this blog.

  3. Anonymous says:

    I don’t like the comment. There is no such thing as a fun stereotype. If someone blog about all white woman giving head or running behind black men I don’t think you or your peers would think it’s funny. As an African American woman I took offense to it. And as I told you before not all black ppl eat fried chicken

    • Waxdiva says:

      Why don’t you send Fakedra a note and ask her why she said what she said?

      • Anonymous says:

        I did write her a note sweetie. Check ya facts before u come at me incorrectly. I told her she is a disgrace to black women and her ignorance is sad. I went to both ends not just one. So don’t assume

        • Waxdiva says:

          I’m not assuming… how in the hell am I supposed to check to see if you contacted Fakedra? That’s why I asked you.
          ‘Check ya facts?’ What facts? There’s no ‘coming at you indirectly’ if I’m asking you directly.

        • tuzentswurth says:

          Did you, anonymous, know that you have the same quilt as the above anonymous that left a somewhat opposite comment, and this quilt appears further down the blog too? At least 4 postings at present, and this persona in this thread sounds very familiar.

          8:17pm ” Oh come on! It’s a joke! Sheesh! Hilarious recap as usual. Feel the love!”

          9:36am “I don’t like the comment. There is no such thing as a fun stereotype. If someone blog about all white woman giving head or running behind black men I don’t think you or your peers would think it’s funny. As an African American woman I took offense to it. And as I told you before not all black ppl eat fried chicken”

          7:05pm as Hotpinksuga “Don’t worry NeNe, when you join a gang they give you guns, you don’t have to be strong. ~ Priceless”

          Coincidence?

          • The quilts were the same bc neither one entered an email address. Quilts go with the email.
            Sorry, I should have made that clear considering all the troll drama we had recently.

            • tuzentswurth says:

              Oh Didn’t know you could post w/o an email address. I thought we had another MPD problem LOL, no wonder it didn’t make sense. TT and I=confused!

              • TT in OC says:

                Now I am more confused than ever. Is Sarah310 ≠ anonymous because they both did not enter an email address and therefore share a same avatar????????

                • Sanguis Frigidus says:

                  Sangfroid here with an anonymous quilt.
                  It is simply that if you post without signing in, or if you post and leave the email and website boxes blank, you get the “false” gravatar. Click on one of those quilts and you will see what I mean

                • Sanguis Frigidus says:

                  Now put your cursor over the blue quilt block and click. It takes you to “false” or anonymous user. Which could be one or many posters.

                • tuzentswurth says:

                  Oh cool, my quilt is incorporated in your upper left corner. I ❤ that!

                • Sarah310 says:

                  ummmm no. I talk to the author of this site on twitter! ❤ her. thank you…. I just don't bother putting in my email 1/2 the time because there is no point.

                • Sanguis Frigidus says:

                  Exactly Sarah,
                  My point was that the blue quilt of anonymity does not mean a poster is a Troll, or the same person multiple times.

                • tuzentswurth says:

                  I learn new things here all the time, that is why I read this blog, for the educational value!

          • TT in OC says:

            I notice too and was wondering what’s going on.

        • JenFromJersey says:

          yeah. but you just said “check ya facts before you come ‘at me'” – lol.

    • debbie says:

      I think you might be overly sensitive..All of us who frequent RCH’s blog know that every snarky comment is just that..Snarky.. No harm is intended, no slurs are intended either.. Most of us realize this and also realize that the snark is not limited to One ethnic group , male or female..and is varied according to which RH franchise is being discussed.. It simply is what it is..and all in good fun..
      Jersey has Italian snark, New York has Jewish Snark as does the repulsive Millionaire Matchmaker. I guess Orange County has Wasp snark. Please relax and enjoy without taking offense.

    • bravofanfromday1 says:

      Why wouldn’t ANYONE eat fried chicken? Let’s set race and sterotypes aside…

      Fried chicken is only totally awesome! What’s not to like?

      • Shari says:

        “Why wouldn’t ANYONE eat fried chicken? Let’s set race and sterotypes aside…

        Fried chicken is only totally awesome! What’s not to like?”

        Fried chicken is the bomb! And it isn’t just for southerners. Although, depending on where you live, its cooked differently. My Minnesota grandma used to put a cover on the pan when she made her fried chicken. I prefer it the way we make it here in NC, with the cover off. I like it crispy.

        Hmm, thinking I should have fried chicken for dinner. 🙂

      • debbie says:

        I’m hanging out with my granddaughter today (she’s napping now.. no neglect here)..and thought I’d check back.. Wish I hadn’t… After reading these comments I am starving and of course all this Jewish chick wants is some fried chicken..My daughter has a lot of whole grain stuff around, tofu and fruit.. but alas nothing fried..or in cans..

    • Shari says:

      “If someone blog about all white woman giving head or running behind black men I don’t think you or your peers would think it’s funny.”

      What do mean, running behind black men? Did you mean white women dating black men? If so, my mom fit that stereotype, as she was with a black man from the time I was eight, unitl I twenty. Me? I chose to run behind Mexican men.

      I, personally fit the first stereotype, and am not ashamed to admit that I enjoy giving it. There’s no shame in doing something that you enjoy. 😉

      • Miss Anthrope says:

        Haha! I don’t understand the white women giving head thing either. So what? Men like getting head. Is that supposed to be a bad thing?

      • TeresApeGiudice says:

        ok, I’m so confused. so, you’re saying black women don’t give head? and you’re saying white women want to date black guys? I’m SO confused.

    • Miss Anthrope says:

      But what is offensive about liking fried chicken? It’s not a negative trait at all. I could see someone getting offended by a joke that said that all white people are pussies or all black people are criminals. Those are negative. But seriously, getting angry because someone says that you probably like a certain (DELICIOUS!) food? That’s just hypersensitivity that the PC brigade thought up. Why buy into that when logically it’s no big deal whatsoever?

    • AZLiving says:

      As a Black woman, I wasn’t offended, go figure.
      And to go a step further, what is up with the glossy lips. My sister said there was a term for that back in the day, which I will not bring up here because it will probably offend a lot of people.
      I love this blog. It’s snarky and fun. One question, when I was a kid, my mother cooked using fresh food. When I was older out came the cans. According to “classless” does that mean we morphed into a white family

  4. K MAC says:

    You might not have noticed the dig at white people too. Canned Food and “Crackers”. I don’t think @putyourhairup’s intention was to be racist but to dig at Fakedra’s ignorance. I am a woman of color and it so happens that I like fried chicken but I also like canned food (maybe i’m bi-racial) and fine dining. LOL!! Sheree made a comment about being a white girl because she can’t dance and has no rhythm which is a white stereotype. We all know that it’s not true that all white people can’t dance. Anyways there was no malicious intent here and it was all in good fun.
    BTW – @putyourhairup the reason you don’t put fried chicken in a can is because it is one of those finer foods we have prepared by a chef and goes so well with foie gras.

  5. bravofanfromday1 says:

    Fakedra has actually made me appreciate Kim, Sheree, and NeNe so much more. The three of them are just angels compared to the nasty piece of work that Fakedra is.

    I never realized what genteel southern ladies those three were until Fakedra came on our screen, LOL.

  6. RHofWhatever says:

    I was UNBELIEVABLY pissed by the “grew up in a WHITE household” digs that I wanted to SCREAM! I am not going to sit around and get insulted, just like ANY person of ANY race should not be insulted! My husband is bi-racial, and this “lady” should NEVER have started a relationship with Apollo if she had such an issue with the white side of the family. I kept thinking about how sh*tty her relationship must be with the in-laws. Thier kid is going to LOVE visiting Daddy on his court ordered visits, because it will be the safe haven from it’s mother’s emotional and physical abuse, and the plethora of nannies it’s going to have because no one is going to put up with her bitchyness for long, and SOMEone has to raise the kid!

    • Need a Hobby says:

      I don’t take Fakedra seriously enough to be outraged or pissed by what she says. She makes herself an object of ridicule by the dumbass shit she says—-much of which I suspect she overplays to create a character for the cameras, I suspect—including her future child beating plans. That doesn’t mean she isn’t really probably a piece of work. But I suspect she’s very aware of the cameras and says crazy shit for effect. (If she isn’t playing it up for the cameras, then she’s dumber than a box of rocks and that’s just more reason to laugh at her. But I don’t think she’s that she’s entirely unaware of what she’s portraying.)

      Anyone remember DeShawn Snow from Season 1? She was the nice one. She didn’t bring the drama. The show dropped her faster than NeNe could say “trashbox whore.”

      Fakedra just looks like a nasty pretentious fool. No one seriously gives credence to the goofy shit she says. Just point out the absurdity and laugh at her pretentious ass.

      • Squirrels says:

        All the more reasons we should all do serious interviews if not investigations regarding any attorney we may consider hiring.

        I now await lawyer jokes with great anticipation.
        HA!

        • tuzentswurth says:

          A lawyer died,went for judgement. He was sure he was going to hell, was led into a room full of lawyers who were standing in a room filled up to their chest in shit, drinking coffee. This is bad but I thought it would be much worse, in fact when he was given his coffee, he found it to be delicious coffee. After a few minutes, the boss came in, blew a whistle, and said “Coffee break is over, everyone down on their knees.”

        • Squirrels says:

          What do you call a thousand lawyers chained together at the bottom of the ocean?
          .
          .
          .
          A good start.

        • Squirrels says:

          How do you tell if it is REALLY cold outside?
          A lawyer has his hands in his own pockets.

          How can you spot a lawyer or politician walking down the street?
          They each have their hands in each other’s pockets. It’s not personal….. just business. : )

  7. RHofWhatever says:

    BTW – I give it 2yrs because that’s when the kid will start having temper tantrums and getting a personality (that will act out all the time due to mom’s indiference and abuse). Then Appollo will see that he has to leave and take the kid too if there is a chance of not having it messed up for life.

    • SavingGrace says:

      Here’s my prediction.

      Apollo is going to “Kevin Federline” Fakedra. He will give her another child…then he will take the kids AND her money. (I give them 2 seasons)

      With his exposure on the show he just might find a richer nicer sugar mama.

      Fakedra is unbelievable. Like Nene said, this girl is fake and a country bumpkin.

  8. SavingGrace says:

    Great hilarious recap.

    Too bad the board has some people that were insulted about it but you know you can’t please everybody.

    It’s hard to talk about Religion, Politics, and Race — Snarking on those topics is sorta next to impossible.

    Yet, when I come here I expect to see some ALL OUT snarking on these crazy ass housewives and I KNOW RCH intention is NOT to hurt her readers feelings.

    With that said, I really enjoyed the play by play recap — look forward to the next one.

  9. jezzibel says:

    I grew up in a white single-parent-military family (yup me and the mom,+cats) I grew up eating the local food of whatever country we were in. My mom was a big one for trying new things, So I tend to view canned/frozen food as rather exotic (I’ve just discovered broccoli with cheese sauce in my local grocery stores freezer section and its #$#()# delicious.) I have never eaten Spam.
    I think Phadrea’s comments show an appalling level of ignorance, and that attitude will adversely affect her career in the courtroom, because you can bet every Lawyer&Judge in Atlanta if not Georgia will have watched that and will use her words against her.

    • Shari says:

      “I have never eaten Spam.” Trust me, you aren’t missing anything. That crap taste nasty.

    • iwannabeanarchy says:

      I totally agree with you about the way she has portrayed herself on the show and how that will adversely affect her legal career. I’m a law student, and let me tell you, your image means A LOT when you are an attorney. Especially as a solo practitioner as she is. Who would hire her to represent them in court? I wouldn’t be surprised if she loses some of her existing client base after the show.

      • jezzibel says:

        I was thinking that her comments could be considered grounds for mistrials if she has represented people that currently reside in the clink, with the “hey my lawyer hates white people and did’nt do a good job of representing me, because she’s a big ole racist” type of claim.

    • Squirrels says:

      My mom still loves spam but claims it too expensive to purchase. I mean, come on…. internal organs of unknown animals is now a delicacy? Geesh. Personally, I’m glad she won’t buy it. That way she can’t force me to join her for lunch.
      😀

      • tuzentswurth says:

        I think it is kind of ham scraps pressed together. My ex used to like it, especially heated. Is it any wonder I had to get rid of him? I just made more spam out of him.

  10. Miss Anthrope says:

    Phaedra really is completely unlikeable. She just really strikes me as a P Diddy type character. Meaning that she most likely didn’t come from much but now she thinks that because she’s got a buck in her pocket that she should be sitting around and ordering french food just because it’s fancy. When someone is born with a silver spoon in their mouth (as I suspect much of BH and NY were) they don’t make such a huge production out of having the finer things in life. Furthermore, even the wealthy black people in the south get down with the fried chicken and collared greens because it’s a cultural thing. She’s not above any of that type of shit, she just pretends she is.

    The canned food comment about white people didn’t really offend me, tbh. Mostly because I am white and canned veggies were the standard in my household growing up. I don’t know if that’s a “white thing” or not, but I suppose it could be? I just always figured it was a middle class thing. I know my mom loves canned veggies because she grew up poor and my grandmother was a single parent. Canned food is cheap and easy. She naturally grew a taste for them I guess and fed them to her family because that’s what she knew. There’s nothing wrong with it at all. Because I know that there’s nothing wrong with it, it ceases to offend me. If Phaedra thinks that I, or any other white person who eats canned food should be ashamed of it then that’s her fuckin problem. I’d much rather be eating canned carrots (which I LOVE) than ordering up duck liver at $150 a plate in an attempt to appear high class. But hey, that’s me.

    Once again, Kim is totally LOL. You can’t help but just embrace that stupid bitch. The way she comes out with that ridiculous tutu with all the confidence in the world is hilarious. At least she’s enjoying herself? Haha.

  11. Sanguis Frigidus says:

    OT
    I am wearing purple today. Are you?

  12. Ali's Mom says:

    Again another excellent blog and Miss Anthrope a perfect analysis of this episode and Ms Fakedra! Thanks Ladies!

  13. JenD says:

    I love Kandi’s blog, because she addressed the canned food comment by Fakedra. As an educated woman
    i would expect more from Fakedra, but her ignorance is showing. She is as racist as the “old plantation owner”. Bitch need to get
    it right. As a woman of color, i felt uncomfortable watching her. God, she is so pathetic, and i don’t believe for a second her husband was raised on canned food, shit maybe her ass did, she just forget. When did she become so worldly, Bitch couldn’t even
    say Foi Gras.

  14. kmuellfa says:

    LOL on the FAIL picture. Good one, RCH.

  15. TT in OC says:

    WARNING! WARNING! WARNING! WARNING!

    This ride/blog is an escape from the uptight world. All recaps and comments are injected with jokes. No harm nor slurs regarding race, gender, religion, sexuality and _______ (you can fill in whatever I am missing) are intended. If you have a condition of taking what you read too seriously, thinking the blogger has a mean bone in her, please get off immediately.

    RCH, I am sure you can incorporate a better disclaimer than I do when you redesign your banner.

    Colibrimoon and others who might feel offended, I am 200% sure that RCH writes to crack us up. Laugh is a very powerful addiction and we are all hooked. Please just laugh with us.

  16. AngryOldMan says:

    Enough with the canned fried chicken, can we talk about how two-faced Kandi was about Kim’s performance/career? In her interviews during the show, Kandi was side-eyeing Kim’s musical “career” and could not talk enough trash. Then, after the “performance” (I don’t know what else you’d call that mess) Kandi was hugging Kim, telling Kim how well she did and generally congratulating her. What the hell? Kandi comes off as jealous of Kim which is odd cause Kandi’s persona has always been that she “rises above.”

    Also, Kim said the White Party wasn’t her crowd. Which part – the gay or the white or both? What exactly IS her crowd? A poorly attended nightclub performance orchestrated by Bravo producers?

    As for that canned fried chicken, someone should totally make that. If we can put a man on the moon and twitter from our cell phones, we must surely be able to make a crispy, well seasoned fried chicken in a can.

  17. Thank you everyone for your comments. I’m sorry to those who were offended, but honestly, lighten up. You all noticed I put “crackers” in the title, right? Haha… get it… crackers as in white people?
    I wasn’t offended over what Phaedra said. How can you be offended over food? I wasn’t aware that black people don’t eat canned foods. Maybe it’s just because I was raised white, but I was under the impression that everyone eats Campbells soup or tuna fish sometimes. And similarly, who doesn’t like fried chicken? (besides vegetarians) Come on, that’s a stupid thing to be offended over. And it may be a stereotype, but it’s not a negative stereotype. There is nothing negative about eating chicken.
    And please remember that the BIG difference between my comment and Phaedra’s was that I was joking, she was dead serious.

    I agree with AngryOldMan, lets move on because all this chicken talk is making me crave KFC which I am currently boycotting along with all other fast food chains. (Read my charities page if you want to know why).

    So about Kandi being two faced – Yes, I agree. I think the reason is because she is jealous which is somewhat understandable. Kim has ZERO talent. She wouldn’t even have that song if it weren’t for Kandi, yet Kandi didn’t make any money off of it. Not only that, but both women had iTunes singles last season and Kim is getting invited to perform at concerts while Kandi’s song didn’t do as well. So now Kandi who has real talent and basically made this song happen, is getting stuck doing back up for talentless Kim. Kandi has worked in this business her whole life and Kim just waltzes in, sings like shit, and tons of people love her.
    I understand Kandi’s feelings. But the way she handled it was all wrong. She should either show up and be supportive, or not show up at all. What she did was very two faced, but it doesn’t really make me dislike her, I kinda feel bad for her.

  18. AngryOldMan says:

    Another thing, and I know this involves Phaedra and fried food and could get controversial but…..what the hell was up with Phaedra cooking in lingerie? Why was she on TV in lingerie in the first place?

    Was she frying fish cause I thought that’s what she said she seasoned? And why was she frying anything in a sheer nightie thereby running the risk of an embarrassing grease splatter? Was that supposed to be breakfast (hence the lingerie/nightie) and if so why fish?

    That whole scene just left me confused. If anyone can explain it to me I would really appresh!

    • Because that’s what good southern belle’s do. Duh.

      I think she was trying to prove that not only is she a career woman, but she can also be a sexy little housewife. I think she was just trying to prove how perfect she is in all areas. That was probably the first and last time she ever cooked breakfast. I’m sure that was all for the cameras.

      • Need a Hobby says:

        Not only that, but for all we know that might have been the first time her hubby has ever seen her in the morning in some fancy sleepwear, much less cooking. Sweats, a chenille bathrobe, and bunny slippers aren’t all that photogenic. (Ha, I bet ole Fakedra would just have the vapors at the thought of someone thinking she’d ever wear such tacky shit. But I can see it.)

        For all we know, that scene wasn’t filmed in the morning either. It’s reality TV, not reality.

        And yeah, I was wondering about the fish too….they had eggs & bacon. Did anyone actually see fish on the plate? I mean that was a regular filet, not kippers.

        And exactly WTF was the meal they had when they had the church folk over for dinner? I couldn’t make out what it was. I mean if old Fakey is gonna go on about what other people eat, the least she could do was drop a clue about her allegedly haute cuisine dish. So much food piled on the plate. For all we know it was a Schwan’s combo special. 😉

        • AngryOldMan says:

          That “fine dining” meal with the mentor couple from the church looked like chicken or fish (oh no!) in a brownish sauce, some sort of greens and possibly a potato gratin. But the church lady never got past the salad. Those poor church people, they could not look any more uncomfortable and they never touched their iced tea.

          As for the Lingerie Fish Fry Debacle of ’10, some producer must have gotten screwed up while filming. Halfway through Phaedra frying fish for an early dinner, the producer decided it would be spicier if she were in lingerie so she changed. Then they realized it made no sense so she better cook breakfast. But they forget to edit out the fish so we get Phaedra frying fish for breakfast in her lingerie.

          • TT in OC says:

            LOL!!!!

          • WindyCityWondering says:

            What self respecting Southern Belle would be caught dead in her unmentionables doing the unthinkable (frying food) which would likely ruin said unmentionables – but horror of horrors she was being filmed in them!!!

          • Need a Hobby says:

            “the Lingerie Fish Fry Debacle of ’10” LOLOLOL!

            I suspect something just like you described happened and they bungled continuity in the edit. lol

            • tuzentswurth says:

              Another classic phrase from the annals of RCH blogdom. We’ve got to start collcting these in one spot!
              ” Lingerie Fish Fry Debacle of ’10″
              Hahahahahahahahahaaa

        • TT in OC says:

          “And exactly WTF was the meal they had when they had the church folk over for dinner?”

          That’s exactly what I was asking. I cook a lot and I can’t tell what’s on the plate. If that’s the gourmet cuisine that prepared for her classy palate, you can count me out!

          • Need a Hobby says:

            Seriously. I was wondering if that brown thing was a clog like shoe constructed of mashed potatoes & gravy? Like a mashed potato gravy boat with something else in bondage on top? I dunno.

            I don’t like mystery meals. Or things that are either moving or watching me while they’re on the plate.

            • Sanguis Frigidus says:

              I thought perhaps the thing in the foreground was a chunk of breaded and fried fish, the background could be mashed yams with a syrup drizzle, and of course on top, the black tangle, grilled scorpion legs. Traditional southern fare with a gourmet flare!

    • boston02127 says:

      Phadog hadn’t had a shower and she wanted her own nasty personal odor to blend with the smell of the fish frying.

  19. surfergirlcut says:

    omg i just laughed my ass off

  20. OMG I can’t get on twitter.
    I’ve heard of this happening, but it’s never happened to me before.
    Uh ho… withdraw… withdraw….

  21. Alicia says:

    Seriously! I rolled out of my chair snorting with laughter! You are hysterical! Your recaps are so true though!! I really look forward to reading them! Keep ’em coming!!

  22. WindyCityWondering says:

    Phaedra – was likely raised by parents of simple means and simple tastes. IMO, she is embarrassed about where she came from and is trying desperately to distance herself with material things (designer labels) and what she figures is upper income living. I’d go as far to say that she is jealous of Apollo’s parents and figures he may know more about that “higher standard of living” than she does – thus the stereotypical bs!
    It is obvious to me that Apollo was raised with better manners, has a more mature and easy going personality and learned more about real world living that she can gleen from movies and magazines. For someone who needs to portray herself as intelligent, professional and good at the practice of law – her performance on this show makes her the last choice for confident and competent counsel…..
    She will be a source of entertainment this season because she will continue to pretend to be what she can never be – classy!

    • RHofWhatever says:

      Agreed!

    • fashion42 says:

      I totally agree with you- I’ve noticed the same thing about people I’ve encountered who desperately try to pretend to be something they are not. It’s so ridiculous to me because I don’t care if someone has money now, came from money, didn’t blah blah blah. It’s sad that some people think they have to try SO hard to distance themselves from where they really came from by trying to overcompensate. It’s pretty obvious to people (to me at least) when someone is trying to do this- it is beyond over the top, misguided, and just…tacky and needy. I always find it funny because people with real class, or money (especially old money)- know how tacky it is to discuss it, or flaunt it. (That’s pretty much why all of the Housewives are broke/go broke/lie about their means- they are not the real deal- Beverly Hills excluded for now- altho I did hear one just filed for bankruptcy) anyway my point is- Kelly Crazy Twit and Jill think they are high class socialites but in reality- people with REAL class, and social standing would never appear on the housewives franchise. They have nothing to gain from it, and it would not be acceptable in their legitimate social circles.

      ***I’m a bethenny lover and I will put as a disclaimer that B is the real deal- she never claimed to be rich, live the life of luxury, etc. Now she may have that money (and hard earned at that) but she is humble, and kind- not about to shove it in anyones face.

      My point is- as has been proven by bankruptcy, rented houses, and whatever shams that have been revealed in the media- the majority of the housewives that are a part of this franchise are not the real deal. But Fakedra managed to be completely transparent within the first few episodes

      Like @Real City Housewife said- FAIL

  23. crazysweet says:

    I don’t eat fried chicken, I’m a vegetarian and officially offended for chickens.
    White people may eat canned food but they don’t name their kids Apollo unless they are huge Rocky fans.
    What do you think Kim’s original “vocal coach” who wrote the tardy for the party hook is doing now?
    Wow, I need friends like Dwight and Kandi one donates $30k of his own money so that your fantasy fashion show can happen and the other writes and records a pop song for you and lets you keep every cent it makes! What a couple of dumbshits.
    New chick whose not Pheadra just because you’re a working model doing catalog shoots doesn’t make you a super model. a super model is a household name, I don’t even know yours.
    If I have to see Kim’s kids do that disgusting purr thingy they learned from their oversexed mom (who strangely reminds me of Lola from 3’s company) one more time I’m going to vomit.
    Sheree’s daughter is actually old news thanks to the TWOP boards (which I refuse to even glance at anymore because of the comment police and constant warnings if you dare speak against any Bravo golden child like Bethenny.)
    Nene is a bully.
    I’m wearing purple.

  24. Tracy says:

    @ Jezzibel…pate reminds you of cat sick? LMFAO!

    • jezzibel says:

      I tried it twice..and the second time I managed to horrify the maitre d by upchucking into the nearest potted plant..it was a memorable date what can I say.

  25. debbie says:

    I get email updates on comments..every time i finish one and delete, another one is in my inbox..These comments come faster than twitter updates..it is sometimes hard to keep up.
    When I’m done, I think I’ll haul my Jewish ass off to the desert, figure out a new way to take over the media while munching on some Matzoh and Gefilte fish (which sometimes comes in a can). When i get thirsty, I’ll chug my Manoschevitz grape wine.

    • WindyCityWondering says:

      I’ll send you a tin of coconut macaroons!

      • debbie says:

        Windy City!
        Amazing! Even macaroons come in a can… I must not be a totally stereotypical Jew..I Hate Macaroons! But thanks for the thought. Lol…….
        On the other hand……I was adopted, and my birth parents were Irish which could explain my love of potatoes (and my small non-Jewish nose). If you’d like to send me some Pringles, that would satisfy my urge for chips in a can. And don’t forget a Guiness and shot of whiskey to wash them down. I have a lot of bases to cover . 😉

  26. Hotpinksuga says:

    Don’t worry NeNe, when you join a gang they give you guns, you don’t have to be strong. ~ Priceless

  27. Tam5115 says:

    Pheadra… is she for real? She can’t be, can she? I heard she took a lot of heat on Twitter and it’s well deserved.

    She probably would eat cat sick if you told her it was pate, and claim it was delicious! I’d pay to see that actually. Ain’t I nice, Joe? LOL

  28. Tracy says:

    Ladies, I think it’s official…we’ve all got addiction issues. I can’t speak for the rest of you, but I follow the Housewives on Twitter and facebook; every morning before going to work I log on to see if RCH has posted anything new OR if there are any new responses to what’s already been posted! I watch re-runs on BravoTV AND have bookmarked Bravo…I follow Andy Cohen on Twitter and facebook and then when I get home from work I log onto the site yet again to see if there is anything new for the second time in 24 hours! Most of my friends know to not even ATTEMPT communication with me if the shows are on or if I’m watching Cohen’s aftershow.

    This evening was stellar and I had a blast reading the comments of my fellow Bravo crack-whores. As Bethenny says “I laughed, I cried, it was better than Cats.”

    RCH this is YOUR fault y’know.

    • I know, I take full blame. That’s why I opened the addiction center where you too can be addiction free for two easy payments of 3 satchels of gold.

    • tuzentswurth says:

      This is the same reason that I had to cut my work hours to 1 hour a day.

      • mscarp says:

        And it’s the same reason why I have chosen to continue being a stay at home mom even though my kids are in school all day. Theoretically I could/should get a job, but it would cut into my Housewives time, so… yeah. Not gonna happen. Now if I could parlay my addiction into a paying job, I might consider it, but I haven’t figured it out. Yet. Maybe I could be a counselor at the Housewives Addiction Center?

  29. WindyCityWondering says:

    Wondering – has Phaedra had “work” done? Her forehead doesn’t seem to move. Her top lip has the distinctly patented Taylor’s got a slug for a top lip look – and smiling seems to be a challenge – it slides to either side. I realize that pregnancy can puff a woman up, but her puffiness isn’t uniform. Too bad she didn’t have some work done on that personality!

    • SavingGrace says:

      I think she had her personality removed. That is why she is so dry, humorless, and gonna get ‘Kevin Federlined” by Apollo.

  30. tuzentswurth says:

    I am going to go with RCH on this one, 12 months at most! If you look at the screen shot of Apollo, I look in his eyes and see dollar signs and a look of total disinterest with more than a hint of contempt.

    • Periwinkle says:

      Unless the white collar criminal can hook up with another sugar momma (I’m looking at you Dwight), I don’t see him going anywhere.

  31. tuzentswurth says:

    BTW, My quilt is purple and whatever happened to Bonbon? RCH, do you know if she is on Twitter? Haven’t seen her for a long time, hope she is ok.

  32. Sarah310 says:

    Kim is way too big of a girl for that little black tutu….a fashion Don’t
    The “fans” on the way to Palm Springs produce electricity.. everytime I go to Palm Springs 1 out of the 100,000 of them of moving around. Now this is having me thinking about my favorite place on earth.. I love the Viceroy in Palm Springs.

  33. crazysweet says:

    ok I’ll play….I give them 6 mos. after the baby is born but then they’ll get back together but then break up again at least 6 more times until he has to go back to jail.

    drinking game: take a shot
    every time ephedrine claims to be a southern bell and every time Kandi talks about Kim

    over on the other board for BH
    every time Kim talks about being a child star and every time Taylor gets something done.

  34. Katie says:

    RCH I appreciate your humor and personally I believe that you are an equal opportunity offender. 

    For those who can’t appreciate it, there are endless destinations you may seek out to whine, bitch and attack others who disagree with your opinions about inconsequential reality tv stars.

    That’s about enough! Go to sleep! Zip it!
    Okay I will stop quoting these a-holes and I will clap for that.

  35. Ava says:

    The fried chicken comment was unnecessary and inapproriate. You’ve just lost a twitter follower and blog reader. You should be ashamed of yourself.

  36. momofthree says:

    I love reading your blogs and your twitter wars, but I have never participated until now. I don’t have a facebook page, twitter account, etc and I honestly don’t know anything about the little pictures next to your names. I cannot resist mentioning that chicken DOES come in a can! Ask Jessica Simpson about the most famous chicken – Chicken of the Sea. ( I apologize if anyone mentioned this. I didn’t read everything because I was bored with the whole racist thing so I skipped down to the bottom.)

  37. Madeline says:

    Wow…how one track minded some people could be. I totally love, love, love the snarkiness on this blog and look forward to reading it every day. I appreciate the humor and didn’t think the chicken in the can comment was racist. I found Phaedra’s comment more offensive than RCH. Thank you for another great blog!

  38. Jersey says:

    Dear Pheadra, thank you for educating us on the eating habits of white people – as a Latina/White girl I now know why I’ve been eating my Goya black beans out of a can all these years!! You of course are the expert on culinary sophistication being from the epi-center of culture – Athens GA!!

  39. pantsonfire says:

    I gotta call bullshit! I am so sick and tired of this race issue, that keeps getting brought up by who else, the blacks. Sheree says I am a black woman in a white womans body- I can’t dance- I’m white that way. No one is calling her out on that? I dance very well thank you Sheree, and I am white. I love reverse racism- at it’s best. And this business from Nene ‘I just want my son to grow up to be a strong black man– If I said I want my son to grow up to be a strong white man, you kow that would be jumped on in a heatrtbeat by the Stacies of the world. I wish all these bitches would shut their Pieholes K? I also would like to point out that Stacie has NO moral high ground to accuse Cat of being uncomfortable in a black environment, seeing as she is half WHITE- and African, she has no blood ties to the history of slavery in the South, and therefore cannot expect I as the vieweer to see that she, herself has been oppressed becuase of the color of her skin. She went to Harvard, Really? Guess what Stace- technically your not black. Accept your part white instead of covering it up, and embrace it too. REVERSE RACISM. She’s not willing to embrace anything white, but is willing to embrace her African father who collects goats in repayment for his daughters. NO MORAL HIGHGROUND- and she absolutely did, as an act of subterfuge, accuse Cat of being uncomfortable, intimating she was rascist, which fueled Erika Pit bull. I think Stacie was the one uncomfortabale with having Cat in her Black Environment, of which Stacie is not really a part of. Thoughts?

  40. Nola girl says:

    This woman is certifiably insane to say something that stupid on National TV. Bravo is equally as insane for airing it. Now if all of you will be so kind as to excuse me while I get back to my can of Ravioli and packed meat dinner. Maybe I will one day be fortunate enough to enjoy fine foods with the multitudes of African-American families crowding the five star restaurants nightly.

  41. Forget you says:

    Well you and your readers can scream reverse racism all you want, but I will not be coming back here. Battling racism with racism is always a nasty thing to do, and it is a problem. From the title of the post, to almost everything you wrote regarding Phaedra was racially motivated. Post whatever you want its your blog, at least you and your readers now have a place to subtly share your racism.

    • If you would pay attention (puh-leeze) you would notice that I clearly stated that I don’t actually think Fakedra is a racist. In fact I’m pretty sure I said somewhere around here that I think getting upset over food stereotypes is pretty ridiculous. My dislike of Fakedra has nothing to do with race. I don’t like her for the same reasons I don’t like Teresa or Dina or Jill….
      Or maybe I just hate Italians and Jews too. Hmmm…. That must be the reason. It couldn’t possibly be because these women are fake, self centered, ignorant, and incredibly, nauseatingly, in love with themselves. Nope. That couldn’t be it.

    • tuzentswurth says:

      Hmmm, I thought it was humor motivated and it never occurred to me that I was “battling”.

  42. pantsonfire says:

    “Battling racism with racism is always a nasty thing to do, and it is a problem.”
    Hey Forget You– You proved my point exactlty. Thanks for your narrow minded inability to carry on an adult debate without cutting and running after you cray ‘Racsist’!!

    • tuzentswurth says:

      Yea you Pants! Since I’m pretty anonymous here, I think if I were racist, I’d really cut loose and let fly. Why would we “subtly share” our “racism”??????
      Rch needn’t defend herself against this stupidity any longer. Anybody with a brain cell can see that she is an equal opportunity offender as Katie said above.

      • pantsonfire says:

        I wasn’t going off on RCH- I was going off on ForgetYou- I agree totally with RCH- and was just pointing out that ForgetYou was going to run from the boards crying the ‘R’ word and was never coming back! Good riddance. Anywhoodle… I am done with that thread, am tired of the race dilemma- let’s get back to the Atlanta Hoochies.

        • tuzentswurth says:

          I got that, I was cheering you on…yea you, like yipee you are right. Gees this can get confusing, Pants, I’m on exactly the same page as you! I agree with you and think your post was very good indeed.

  43. pantsonfire says:

    tuzentswurth—-Boy I’m a little touchy eh? Maybe I’m just ovulating… On to better things. I have been praying really hard at night to anyone in Lyndas God posse that the White House, after seeing the footage of the Salahis might reconsider pressing some charges. And I was also wondering- where were the Bravo cameras the night of the Congressional BC Dinner?

  44. Jessica says:

    I’ve only seen 2 episodes from the third season and my skin crawled every second she was in them. And Fakendra is right on…

Leave a Reply

